Two tennis courts next to the beach

Out of Rhythm

The correct answer is:

It depends.

From The Code, Items 28 and 30:

The Code states that “a player shall not put into play or hit over the net an obvious fault.” In this case, Briana’s opponent did attempt to return an obvious fault, but it didn’t go over the net, and it didn’t seem to be a form of gamesmanship. Although the receiver caused a bit of a delay, “the receiver is the judge of whether the delay is sufficiently prolonged to justify giving the server two serves.” Unless she’s just incredibly nice, Briana’s opponent would probably argue that she was trying to do Briana a favor and wasn’t trying to delay the game. Despite Briana’s rhythm being thrown off, her opponent didn’t clearly break any rules.

Here's how our readers responded:




See More

Back to blog
1 of 3