Net Equals Let

Net Equals Let

The correct answer is:

Alexa’s opponent was right, and the serve is a let. 

From ITF Rule 22:

According to Rule 22, a serve is a let if “after touching the net…[the ball] touches the receiver or the receiver’s partner...before hitting the ground.” Even though a ball touching a player is usually grounds for that player losing the point, in the case of a serve touching the net and then a player, the serve is a let.

Here's how our readers responded: 




See More

Back to blog
1 of 3