Don't Make Assumptions

Don't Make Assumptions

The correct answer is:

Ashley’s opponent won the point since her ball made it back over the net.

From ITF Rule 11:

According to this rule, “unless a fault or a let is called, the ball is in play from the moment the server hits the ball, and remains in play until the point is decided.” Since Ashley never called a fault, even if her opponent thought her serve had gone out, she continued to play the point, albeit halfheartedly. Since the opponent’s “shot” made it back over the net, and Ashley couldn’t return it, her opponent won the point. The lesson is that a player can win a point even without trying.

Here's how our readers responded:




See More

Back to blog
1 of 3