Blocks In Tennis

Blocks In Tennis

The correct answer is:

Madison’s partner was right since she didn’t hit the ball before it crossed the net. 

From ITF Rule 24:

While many players may have learned that they couldn’t cross the net, that is no longer a rule. ITF Rule 24, Case 4 states that a player does not lose a point “if an imaginary line in the extension of the net is crossed before or after hitting the ball.” The only way Madison and her partner would have lost this point would have been if Madison’s partner had hit the ball “before it [had] passed the net.”


Here's how our readers responded: 




See More

Back to blog
1 of 3