Aerial view of several tennis courts

Questionable Boundaries

The correct answer is:

The point was Francesca’s since she hit a winner and was allowed to hit the side netting. 

From The Code, Item 19: 

According to The Code, it would be up to Francesca to concede the point if she had done anything wrong, not up to her opponents to claim the point. In this case, since the side netting is considered a permanent fixture, and there’s no rule against a racquet hitting a permanent fixture (a racquet can’t touch the net, and a ball can’t touch a permanent fixture), Francesca wins the point.

Here's how our readers responded: 



Back to blog
1 of 3