Woman reaching to return a shot in tennis

Down Under Doubles

The correct answer is:

Jamie’s team won the point legitimately, and the game should continue.

From ITF Rules 16 and 18d:

The Australian doubles formation is completely legal, and Jamie’s team won the point. Rule 16 says that the server shall stand with both feet within “the imaginary extensions of the centre mark and the sideline.” Rule 18 says that a serve results in a foot fault if the server touches “the imaginary extension of the centre mark with either foot.” Although Jamie chose to serve starting near the center hash mark rather than closer to the doubles alley as most doubles players do, she did not do anything against the rules, and the point belongs to her team.

Here's how our readers responded: 



See More

Back to blog
1 of 3